naushika: (Defiance - Irisa - steampunk specs)
[personal profile] naushika
I've eaten some horribly unhealthy foods on a few occasions over the past few weeks due to various events or holidays. Chris' birthday was a couple weeks ago and we had pizza and cake. And for the 4th of July a bunch of people came over and it was all kinds of unhealthy food: hot dogs on buns, potato salad, chips, and peach cobbler with ice cream. Mentally I didn't really have a problem eating the food because special occasions deserve special food, and if I can't eat ice cream on the goddamn 4th of July then what's the point? Lol. I feel no guilt about it. But apparently I've altered how my body handles carbs so drastically that I feel significant physical effects from indulging. Apart from painful cramps for a day afterwards, my feet swell up, painfully so, for 3-4 days after indulgent eating. It's sort of become a self-enforcing response to keep me healthy, haha. I was actually really confused the first time it happened, but then it happened again and I made the connection to crappy eating, since it happened right after both times. Very strange, but I searched around the internet, and found it happens to some other people doing low carb. Apparently the insulin response causes your body to retain water.. or something. Idk, all I know is, I don't like it!

In my never-ending search for delicious and affordable flavored nuts, I came across nuts.com (seems obvious in retrospect) and they have tons and tons of different nuts for good prices. Lots of seeds, too. (mmmm sunflower seeds). I haven't ordered from them yet but I am going to soon. They also have some neat specialty products like almond flour and artificial sweeteners like xylitol, tho I am happy to stick with sucralose. They also have lots of no-sugar-added dried fruit. Usually I dehydrate my own when I want dried fruit, but they have some dried fruit mixes and stuff that would just be too much effort to make myself. I went searching for reviews and found this and I'm so jkfljds over the cute bags everything comes in, LOL. (Shush, my priorities are sound, damnit!)

Anyway I am going to get some stuff from there soon. I need more snacks in my life and I can't eat beef jerky all the time even if I want to. XD Struggling to find snacks that fit paleo/low-carb has been difficult cause there's not a lot out there. My repertoire right now mostly includes rotations of beef jerky, fresh veggies + homemade ranch dip, and various combos of cheese + cold cuts + apples. It's getting boring. Adding in a variety of nuts and seeds would really liven my diet up.

Overall though the healthy lifestyle change has been going well. I think I'm lucky in that I love nearly all vegetables and also I love salad. This sort of diet would be nigh-on impossible if you didn't like veggies.

Cause it's been a while since I've done this, have a random image dump of some of the meals we've made recently.


Herb-roasted pork chops w/ a dollop of homemade blueberry sauce, sriracha green beans, sweet potato.


Sausage, scrambled eggs w/ spinach and pepperjack cheese, cucumber and tomato slices


Pork chops with some sort of fruit sauce, I forget.. maybe peaches, salad, sweet potato. For the record Chris always puts a lot of meat on my plate "just in case" but I usually don't eat it all. I had like, 1.5 of those pork chops. (Stop cringing, it doesn't get thrown away! Either Chris eats it or it gets put in the fridge and someone has it later.)


Steak, herb-roasted Mexican squash, salad w/ homemade ranch.


Pork roast slices w/ more of that homemade blueberry sauce (we did a huge batch a while ago and have been eating it ever since), mess of vegetables. ~Brand rec (for Americans anyway, not sure about other countries): Flav-R-Pac makes the best frozen veggies. They have all sorts of individual veggies (I get a lot of Brussels sprouts, broccoli florets, and green beans) but they also have an assortment of different veggie medleys and stir fry veggie mixes. They are so quick and easy and nummy too. I always have a backup of frozen veggies in the freezer because fresh goes bad quickly or gets eaten quickly so I don't always have fresh.


Slightly burnt scrambled eggs (oops we all make mistakes), asparagus, bacon.


Chris and I had this for dinner one night instead of a regular meal cause we were so lazy. Broccoli, cucumber, carrots, pepperoni, turkey, celery, homemade ranch. I often do smaller versions of this for snacks.


Experiment: banana pancake. Mush a banana or two with an egg, fry like a pancake. Very similar texture, flavor is outrageously banana-y. I kinda like it but bananas are super sugary so I don't really like to do this much. (Also it's got blueberries on the top.) Plus half an avocado and fried egg.


We do many many versions of this incredibly simple meal. Slice up and cook some thin beef, throw in one of the aforementioned bags of stir-fry veggies, add some sriracha, and boom. Dinner.


Salad w/ sliced roasted chicken on top, half a sweet potato. The dressing is one that Chris' sister made for us, an orange-cilantro dressing and was so amazing, I really need to figure out how to recreate it.


Fried eggs, avocado, tomato, half a banana, bacon, sausage. Chris loves sausage so we have it fairly often. I can never eat it all (sooo heavy) so he usually eats all my leftover pieces. The man eats like 2-3 times more food than I do. And he weighs less. GENETICS EVERYBODY


Buffalo chicken ranch soup, with carrots, celery, and onion.


Steak, salad, Brussels sprouts. :D



Damnit now I'm hungry.

Date: 2013-07-07 10:36 pm (UTC)
keypike: (Default)
From: [personal profile] keypike
In addition to the insulin response causing swelling, the gluten could also cause the stomach cramping. My husband gets congested/runny nose if he accidentally eats gluten. It's crazy the impact certain things cause on our bodies. It's a good reminder, though, of how good you feel when you don't eat that stuff.

Your food looks really good!

Date: 2013-07-07 10:52 pm (UTC)
From: [personal profile] timetobegin
mmmm food

i find that i feel completely crap when i eat crap now. I had nachos for dinner the other night because i was in a hurry & i had a craving, and i just felt so bad after :( Its not guilt, cos fuck it, but my body is like how very DARE YOU ahahahah

:D veges are the best

Date: 2013-07-08 09:17 pm (UTC)
From: [personal profile] timetobegin
ahah yep pretty much!

OH GUESS WHAT I WATCHED LAST NIGHT.
a mirror darklyyyyyyyy

Date: 2013-07-08 12:29 am (UTC)
csichick_2: (danny & grace)
From: [personal profile] csichick_2
The only reason I'm not hungry is that I'm in the middle of dinner. That food all looks awesome.

And damn genetics. I'm trying to lose weight after too many years of eating whatever the fuck I wanted and its hard.

Date: 2013-07-08 03:46 am (UTC)
queer_theory: (Default)
From: [personal profile] queer_theory
Nuts.com! I have got to check that out.

*noms your foods through the screen*

gosh i love arrows.

also watching tv, making icons, writing fic, reading comics, and generally fanning it up.