naushika: (Teen Wolf - Stiles & Allison - team cool)
[personal profile] naushika
I made a stupid post on tumblr that young avengers should be renamed young hotties and Jamie McKelvie liked it. DAY MADE

14. If you won the lottery...

Depends on how much the lottery winnings were. Believe it or not you can't live the rest of your life on a million bucks so my approach to that would be very different to, say, winning 300 million dollars which of course you totally can.

If I won $1million: I would pay off all my debts. This would come to about $40k so it's worthwhile to do. I would then consult a financial advisor with the rest of the money and come up with a plan on the best way to strike a balance between investment/profit of the money and low-risk of losing any of it. If we could come up with a way to generate a yearly profit/interest of even just $20k that would be great and would just become part of my income. I would still work. I might buy a house.

If I won way more than that, like the mega $300million jackpot, I would:

- consult the financial advisor first because I wouldn't even know what to do with that much money. Probably find the best one money can buy and have him/her become manager of my accounts and that sort of thing because wow confusing and scary
- pay off all my debts
- quit my jobs
- go travelling over America for a year
- go travelling over the world for the year after that
- buy a house in Arizona (for the winter), and one in Maine (for the summer)
- buy my dad anything he wants. house, car? whatever
- start up a non-profit or scholarship or something like that
- open my own business to keep myself entertained, like a comic shop or something, and run it even if it isn't profitable because YAY
- give a lot of money away to non-profits and things, some causes I believe in
- go to kickstarter and buy the biggest tier donation on like EVERYTHING
- idk just find great ways to give away money
- make a young avengers movie happen. SOMEHOW. i'm rich, i can do it now
- AND MOST IMPORTANTLY: go to every con in the world basically

Date: 2013-10-26 04:01 am (UTC)
From: [personal profile] timetobegin
A+

i agreee with you so much. i feel like i could easy waste a million in like, 4 days. I would keep working and just pay off my family's mortgages (and future mortgages) it would make quality of life 230429% better, by my life wouldn't change much.

although i'd still probably go to comic con even if it was only 1 million (lololol only)

Date: 2013-10-27 11:47 pm (UTC)
laisserais: kiss (Default)
From: [personal profile] laisserais
lol can you sign me up for some of your free money if you win? :D

This is a very mature list. I think I'd probably spend it all on hookers and blow.

What kind of nonprofit would you start?

Date: 2013-10-30 06:19 pm (UTC)
moon_was_ours: (Sleepy Hollow)
From: [personal profile] moon_was_ours
You are so smart with your hypothetical money! I love it. I'm totally the same. I would pay off this bad loan on my house so it wasn't hanging over my head... Then I'd probably put the rest into savings/investment/retirement. If it was mega winnings I'd do the same but then have some left to live off of and travel. I honestly can't say whether I'd donate the rest of it, but I would definitely try to help out family and friends and donate to to causes that were important to me...

Isn't it awesome to dream...

gosh i love arrows.

also watching tv, making icons, writing fic, reading comics, and generally fanning it up.