such news, very developments
Apr. 1st, 2014 07:11 pmreal life stuff first!
- I HAVE AN INTERVIEW FOR THAT LIBRARY JOB LINED UP!! On Monday! YAY! It turns out when I called yesterday the library was closed (I suppose for Cesar Chavez day) haha woops. SO YEAH THAT'S HAPPENING. The only worry now is I have to gather 3 professional references. Like, I definitely have 1, someone I'm working with currently for my audiobook gig. I mean, I'm pretty sure. I have to ask him first but I can't imagine why he'd say no. But then I need 2 others, and 1 has to be a previous supervisor. So that's gonna take some digging I suppose. I have a bad habit of not really keeping in contact with previous coworkers/bosses, lol. Is it weird to just email a previous boss after not talking to them for like 5 years and asking for them to be available to give a reference? (No letter writing, I just have to provide contact info for the refs.)
- I bought my ticket to the Fan Expo Canada! I'm in the middle of plane-ticket shopping around, and will have one purchased by the end of the night. (It's just a big purchase so I'm letting some options mill around in my head.) But I will be hanging out at the Fan Expo this August with
skieswideopen and
colls and I'm so excited!! Ahh!! FUN! Also I've never been to Toronto before!
fandom/tv stuff!
-
moon_was_ours wrote a delightfully adorable and perfect Arrow Felicity/Diggle ficlet that you should read over here BECAUSE FELICITY/DIGGLE <3
- I binge-watched all of Brooklyn Nine-Nine in two days. Whoever told me it's like P&R but with cops was pretty spot on. Although it's still different enough to P&R that it doesn't feel like a rehash. I don't find it quite as funny as P&R, BUT, season 1 of Brooklyn 9-9 is already way funnier than season 1 of P&R was. It's not fair to compare a show that's had a few years to get its groove on to a brand new show. ALSO, I kind of like the characters of Brooklyn 9-9, in general, better. They're all loveable in their own ways. There's also no Jerry of the show, which is a huge plus (I like Jerry fine - I hate how he is treated. It's the one sore spot of P&R for me). Anyway not to get too compare-y about it. Just to say the humor style is similar, and it's got that non-cheesy heartwarming stuff in it to boot, so yeah this was definitely a slam dunk for me. And I LOVE the characters. LOVE THEM!! (Don't ask me for a favorite. I can not choose.)
- I watched the first episode of the Amazon show The After. I heard a lot of mixed stuff, but honestly, I loved it. LOVED. IT. Group of misfits shoved together? Creepy end of the world stuff? THAT SIGNATURE WEIRD CHRIS CARTER STYLE SUPERNATURAL SHIT? Yup I'm there sign me up *stamps seal of approval on show*. I also read that the show was picked up! So there will be more! Idk how many more episodes but hopefully at least 11 for a 12-ep run?
- Agents of SHIELD COMES BACK TONIGHT YEAHHHHHHHH
- There's no tv I'm watching right now causing me stress. The Walking Dead just ended for the season, and the second half of the season was soooo good, I'm really glad I came back to the show. It was worth it for that half a season, if nothing else. Once Upon a Time is frickin' delightful right now, I don't even care. No, it's not any better written or whatever, it is the same exact level of show it has always been. But I'm really enjoying the story direction! Intelligence just ended its first (of hopefully-more-than-one) season, and the 2-parter that capped the season was really good, and kind of a turning point in the show for me. I liked the two leads all along, Riley and Gabriel, but the rest of the characters really came into their own in the 2-parter and now I love everyone in this bar etc. The Americans remains a really solid spy thriller and I enjoy it. I also enjoy Russian cold war politics so it's like this show is tailor made for me. I would say that Vikings lost its shit but I don't think it every really had its shit to begin with. And I mean that in a good way. Crazy fuckin show but I enjoy it haha. Needs more Lagertha tho. Continuum leaves me boggled every week, in a good way. They've been doing some crazy ballsy time travel stuff but I love them for it.
I LOVE TV
- I HAVE AN INTERVIEW FOR THAT LIBRARY JOB LINED UP!! On Monday! YAY! It turns out when I called yesterday the library was closed (I suppose for Cesar Chavez day) haha woops. SO YEAH THAT'S HAPPENING. The only worry now is I have to gather 3 professional references. Like, I definitely have 1, someone I'm working with currently for my audiobook gig. I mean, I'm pretty sure. I have to ask him first but I can't imagine why he'd say no. But then I need 2 others, and 1 has to be a previous supervisor. So that's gonna take some digging I suppose. I have a bad habit of not really keeping in contact with previous coworkers/bosses, lol. Is it weird to just email a previous boss after not talking to them for like 5 years and asking for them to be available to give a reference? (No letter writing, I just have to provide contact info for the refs.)
- I bought my ticket to the Fan Expo Canada! I'm in the middle of plane-ticket shopping around, and will have one purchased by the end of the night. (It's just a big purchase so I'm letting some options mill around in my head.) But I will be hanging out at the Fan Expo this August with
fandom/tv stuff!
-
- I binge-watched all of Brooklyn Nine-Nine in two days. Whoever told me it's like P&R but with cops was pretty spot on. Although it's still different enough to P&R that it doesn't feel like a rehash. I don't find it quite as funny as P&R, BUT, season 1 of Brooklyn 9-9 is already way funnier than season 1 of P&R was. It's not fair to compare a show that's had a few years to get its groove on to a brand new show. ALSO, I kind of like the characters of Brooklyn 9-9, in general, better. They're all loveable in their own ways. There's also no Jerry of the show, which is a huge plus (I like Jerry fine - I hate how he is treated. It's the one sore spot of P&R for me). Anyway not to get too compare-y about it. Just to say the humor style is similar, and it's got that non-cheesy heartwarming stuff in it to boot, so yeah this was definitely a slam dunk for me. And I LOVE the characters. LOVE THEM!! (Don't ask me for a favorite. I can not choose.)
- I watched the first episode of the Amazon show The After. I heard a lot of mixed stuff, but honestly, I loved it. LOVED. IT. Group of misfits shoved together? Creepy end of the world stuff? THAT SIGNATURE WEIRD CHRIS CARTER STYLE SUPERNATURAL SHIT? Yup I'm there sign me up *stamps seal of approval on show*. I also read that the show was picked up! So there will be more! Idk how many more episodes but hopefully at least 11 for a 12-ep run?
- Agents of SHIELD COMES BACK TONIGHT YEAHHHHHHHH
- There's no tv I'm watching right now causing me stress. The Walking Dead just ended for the season, and the second half of the season was soooo good, I'm really glad I came back to the show. It was worth it for that half a season, if nothing else. Once Upon a Time is frickin' delightful right now, I don't even care. No, it's not any better written or whatever, it is the same exact level of show it has always been. But I'm really enjoying the story direction! Intelligence just ended its first (of hopefully-more-than-one) season, and the 2-parter that capped the season was really good, and kind of a turning point in the show for me. I liked the two leads all along, Riley and Gabriel, but the rest of the characters really came into their own in the 2-parter and now I love everyone in this bar etc. The Americans remains a really solid spy thriller and I enjoy it. I also enjoy Russian cold war politics so it's like this show is tailor made for me. I would say that Vikings lost its shit but I don't think it every really had its shit to begin with. And I mean that in a good way. Crazy fuckin show but I enjoy it haha. Needs more Lagertha tho. Continuum leaves me boggled every week, in a good way. They've been doing some crazy ballsy time travel stuff but I love them for it.
I LOVE TV
no subject
Date: 2014-04-02 08:15 am (UTC)i probably had issuesB99 is so greattttttt :D Rosa and Amy are my faves, but i do love everyone . I hope it continues to be AWESOME
Agents of Shield was pretty gooood. I had one :( though. (yep EMOTICONS INSTEAD OF WORDS. gina knows where its at)
Intelligence is more teamy now, which helps my enjoyment level.
no subject
Date: 2014-04-03 06:12 am (UTC)Rosa and Amy are so great. I guess if I had to pick they would be my faves. But the captain tho. And.. I totally adore Jake. No regrets but he's adorbs haha.
What was your :( about? Was it May? ARGH I HATE THAT THEY WOULDN'T JUST LISTEN TO WHATEVER IT IS SHE HAD TO SAY PLUS HATE THAT SHE WOULDN'T JUST TELL THEM WHAT'S GOING ONNNNnnnn. Sigh.
Yeah, that's what I like about Intelligence more now :D TEAMS! TEAMS FOREVERRRR
no subject
Date: 2014-04-04 08:23 pm (UTC):D YESSSSS everyone is so perfect.
IT WAS. but also mostly that Hand is made out to be evil right now too. If Hand is evil i'm going to be very MAD.
teamsssss
no subject
Date: 2014-04-02 11:56 am (UTC)I totally blame Regina and Robin for OUAT's delight. Currently OUAT is one of the shows I'm most looking forward to... there's no other explanation than those two tbh *LOL*
the milkshake scene!!! the best! :D
I gave up on The Americans after S1. I realized that I'm not really invested in any of these characters...
I might watch s2 if I get bored, but I probably won't ...
no subject
Date: 2014-04-03 06:13 am (UTC)Regina and Robin are 10000% of the source of the delight for sure. :D
YES THE MILKSHAKE SCENE, HAHA. I was like omg. THIS SCENE IS WHAT I'M HERE FOR
LOL It's ok. It's not a show I get excited about. It's just entertaining when I watch it.
no subject
Date: 2014-04-03 07:11 pm (UTC)Sometimes I feel a little bit bad, because EVERYONE ELSE GOES QUIET!!! *lol*
But it's not like the others can't talk about anything else when we're wrapped up in twd XD
RIGHT? UGH, WHY ARE THOSE TWO SO PERFECT? ;D
*lol* RIGHT? I thought it was a little weird that everyone picked a different flavour, but except for that? YES, GOOD! :D
*lol* entertaining is gooooood!!! :D
no subject
Date: 2014-04-03 08:54 pm (UTC)SO PERFECT. :D I can't wait for the next episode.
haha Yeah it was ~convenient they all picked a different flavor but whatever. It worked for me :D
no subject
Date: 2014-04-03 10:43 pm (UTC)ME EITHER!!!
I mean, the teaser was beyong bad, but that only means my expectations are low-ish, and they can surprise me with good regina stuff!!! :D
Hahaha, right? But whatev, still a great scene :D
no subject
Date: 2014-04-02 01:59 pm (UTC)I'm going to have to look into The After....sounds like my cup of tea!
And congrats on the interview!
no subject
Date: 2014-04-03 06:16 am (UTC)The After is really interesting, and a bit creepy! I recommend it. Not around kids though. There's a lot of swearing in it. ;D
Thanks!!
no subject
Date: 2014-04-02 07:24 pm (UTC)Aw, lucky! Canada trip and hanging out with two awesome people? I'll try not to be too jealous :) Also, if you see her, you must tell me how GORGEOUS Danai Gurira is in person!
B99 is adorable, isn't it? Amy and Rosa are currently vying for my top favorite but I love most of them. And ITA with you about poor Jerry on Parks and Rec. It's the only not awesome part of that show :(
I haven't watched The After yet because I wanted to make sure it'd be picked up first. Now that I know we'll get an actual series out of it, I intend to check it out.
YES THANK YOU! These back 8 episodes of season 4 have been AMAZING! I love character development stuff and exploring new dynamics between the characters and every single episode had that. Ugh, cliffhanger though :(
I still haven't watched The Americans but it remains on my constantly-expanding list of TV to check out.
no subject
Date: 2014-04-03 06:20 am (UTC)haha I'm jealous of myself! I can't wait to hang out with those two. I'm going to be all awkward and nervous. Omg I might have to try and get a photo with Danai, I love her so much! I'll be sure to report back. :D
B99 is SO cute! Amy and Rosa are definitely near the top of my faves, if I had to rank. I'm so endeared to them both! Yeah, poor Jerry. I was kind of excited in the recent ep where it looked like they might redeem that storyline.. but then the end of the episode happened. Sigh!
I knew a lot of people weren't sure about The After for that reason. Glad I could report on it being picked up! :D I want people to watch it along with me, haha.
Yess! The character development on TWD was out of this world!! The cliffhanger made me shout "whaaat nooooo that can't be it!" at the tv, haha. I'm going to be antsy for months now!
The Americans I think would make for a good binge-watching show, since the plot is very serial and sometimes a bit complicated (for my brain anyway!), so I think sitting on it for a while is a good idea actually, haha.
no subject
Date: 2014-04-02 09:37 pm (UTC)My son is IN LOVE with Brooklyn Nine-Nine. Has been since the first ep.:)
And, of course, I have to agree with you on OUAT, since it currently rules my universe.*g*
no subject
Date: 2014-04-03 06:21 am (UTC)haha, it's a great show! Your son has good taste! :D
High five for OUAT love! :)
no subject
Date: 2014-04-03 01:06 am (UTC)FAN EXPO! I'm going to buy my tickets this week. So excited!
I haven't watched S.H.I.E.L.D. yet. Was it good?
I need to watch the most recent Americans. Such a good show. Not one I'm the slightest bit fannish about, but I do enjoy watching it.
no subject
Date: 2014-04-03 06:48 am (UTC)YAY! EXCITEMENT!!!
I really enjoyed the SHIELD episode cause a lot of things are happening now. But there is a somewhat frustrating thing going on with May. I don't want to spoil it. But knowing how you feel about certain types of storylines I'm not sure how happy you'll be. >.<
Yay, it's so good! And I'm the same, haha. I don't get fannish about it. I just watch. But it's compelling!
no subject
Date: 2014-04-03 02:55 am (UTC)I think it would be fine to email an old boss about being a reference. Since it's been so long, you might want to say "I worked for $company from X date - Y date" somewhere in the email. But really, I'm sure bosses get requests for references all the time. And, if they don't have to do anything (don't have to write anything) but answer a phone call / email, all the better.
no subject
Date: 2014-04-03 06:49 am (UTC)You're probably right, I'm sure it's not a weird request at all. It must go with the territory of being in an oversight position. I was on the fence about someone but I went ahead and emailed her now. Thanks for your advice!!
no subject
Date: 2014-04-12 08:13 pm (UTC)The Americans is so underrated. I love that it's very much a period show, but they take the best stuff of the era and leave out the bad. Elizabeth is chic as fuck. Wow. I want to dress like that when I grow up.