naushika: (comics - Natasha - face forward)
[personal profile] naushika
Captain America: The Winter Soldier reaction, SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS

This won't be very coherent and I'm probably forgetting things already, but overall: I REALLY LOVED IT! Here are some reactions in bullet pointttttts

- I can't believe Hydra is back. Not only back, but they've been there all along, growing in power, and taking over SHIELD from the inside omggg. I thought that was a great twist. I didn't see it coming. Also I haven't read the Winter Soldier comics yet (downloaded them.. never got around to reading!) so if that's how it goes down in the comics then I'm kind of glad I didn't read them yet cause I enjoyed the surprise.

- YAY TEAM UPSSSSSS! I so very much enjoyed Steve, Natasha, Sam, and Fury and Hill too, being awesome together.

- Great lack of romance subplots. Steve and Natasha, despite the Undercover Kiss (actually, because of it really - and Natasha's teasing lololol), are even more firmly in the category of Bros for me now and I love it. <3 THEY SUPPORT EACH OTHER AND TEASE EACH OTHER AND HAVE LEARNED TO TRUST EACH OTHER AND ARE FRIENDS AND I'M SOBBINGGGGGGGGGG. Sharon's obvs the romantic seed for Cap 3 but that's ok, I'm just glad they didn't push it in this movie.

- Sitwell is a bad guy nooooooooooooooooo :( Also now he's dead. Maybe. (Nobody's ever dead in Marvel.)

- CAN WE TALK ABOUT how great Sam is. FALCONNNNNNNNNNNN! I just love how Sam is retired military and So Done with that.. until Captain Fucking America walks into his life with dat jawline and dat sense of justice and Sam can't help but want to follow him~~~~~. CAPTAIN AMERICA LEADERSHIP FEELS

- Natasha tho!! Okay they had to do the stupid thing where Steve had to carry her unconscious body but that was only once and Natasha had SO MANY BADASS SCENES IT WAS SO GREAT, I'M CRYING INTO MY MORNING TEA, NATASHAAAAAAAAAAA. I loved her pain over discovering how rotten to the core SHIELD was. "I thought I was going straight." omg precious babyyyyyy

- FINALLY the Steve & Peggy scene we've all been waiting for. Though it was so sad cause she's got dementia now. Aww. :(

- Man I was so mad when I thought Fury was dead lolol. WHY DO I FALL FOR IT EVERY TIME????????

- MARIAAAAAAAA. "That helmet was squeezing my brain. Who's this guy?" LOL. <3 for Maria saving everyone's butts. What was up with the scene at the end with her at Stark Industries?? Was she applying for a job there? NO SHE NEEDS TO GO ON AGENTS OF SHIELD

- Speaking of Agents of SHIELD I am so confused now and very curious to see how they are gonna reconcile the movie with the show. I mean things felt Very Wrong last week and now I wonder if it was related to the events of Winter Soldier. I mean, they must have been. WHAT'S GONNA HAPPEN???? I can't wait til the next AoS episode!!

- Oh I guess I should talk about Bucky. I thought his story was done well.. I dunno, I have like zero emotional attachment to Bucky. I didn't care that much about him in the first movie either. I'M SORRYYYYYY. I care about him just as far as caring about how his actions affect Cap. That's what I care about. It's nothing against the actor or whatever. I think mostly I just don't like the story of Best Friend Made To Forget You And Turn Evil. I've basically not cared about Bucky since I first saw him in Avengers: Earth's Mightiest Heroes. (That cartoon has informed a lot of my Avengers-related emotions, actually. It is where I first saw and fell in love with Falcon!)

- lol at Zola being in the computers. That was a fun twist. I don't think we've seen the last of him, though. You can't tell me Hydra/SHIELD hasn't backed up his data at some point once technology advanced.

- So many great character moments in this movie. Steve and Sam and Natasha all got lovely bits of development. Also I love that Steve has been keeping an ongoing list of things he missed and needs to check out. Every time someone says OMG YOU NEED TO SEE/LISTEN TO/READ/DO THIS he writes it down dutifully in his book and does it. *cries*

- There was only one brief moment where I saw Natasha's cleavage, when she was briefly in her black catsuit in the helicopter but hey I got plenty of Chris Evans eye candy throughout the movie so you know what I'll let this one go ahaha. STEVE IN A TANK TOP WITH DIRT SMUDGES ALL OVER. Unf. And let's not forget Sam in those t shirts that emphasize the biceps. Yaaaas. Bless the MCU.

- I love that Steve and Fury were kind of shown to be two sides of the same coin. They both believe so much in protecting people, they just go about it sooo differently. But in Fury's case, it bit him in the ass. I love that Steve was the only one Fury trusted to give the drive too - cause who doesn't trust Captain America lol - but Steve took that trust so seriously, EVEN THOUGH he didn't necessarily trust Fury back, and didn't betray it to anyone. He only brought Natasha in when she outsmarted him eheheh. But then he and Natasha go through Some Shit together and Steve learns to trust her and I'M CRYING AGAINNNNNNNNNnn

- post-credits scenes: Again didn't care too much about the Bucky one heh. But SCARLET WITCH AND QUICKSILVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Crying. I'm really excited about them. I CAN'T WAIT FOR AGE OF ULTRON. (Also Guardians of the Galaxy.)

- There were probably less cool things about the movie I just didn't notice or remember and I'll pick up on them once the movie comes out on dvd and I watch it again several more times but for now there's really nothing I didn't enjoy. I LOVED IT. Great action. Lots of funny moments. LOTS of character moments, and a Bro Team Up of Steve, Natasha, and Sam, which made my heart skip several beats~~

WINTER SOLDIER, A MOVIE ABOUT TRUST AND BROS!! <3

Date: 2014-04-04 11:03 pm (UTC)
aryas_zehral: (mcu- tasha)
From: [personal profile] aryas_zehral
Oh I was the opposite in relation to Bucky. I have all the Bucky feels and the Bucky and Steve BFFs 4eva feels. I would rather never ever have any form of romantic plot for Cap as long as he and Bucky get back to being BFFs again. Its a thing. XD

I was so worried they would make Natasha any form of romantic object that I was honestly relieved at the lack of any romance. I just think Natasha is too good for that nonsense, too wise. :)

I can't think of anything I really didn't like about the movie (except the 3d seemed really meh) but I feel I need to watch it like a million more times, which is odd because the first Captain America movie is probably the one I've seen least and that's including both versions of the Hulk . And yet Iron Man 3 I have little to no desire to see again even though Iron Man 1 is probably the MCU movie I've seen the most. Then again, that might be because this has Bucky (who I think is very pretty sometimes) and Natasha (who I think is awesome) and Steve (who I think is lovely) and Fury and Hill in it. :)

BTW, did we see Sitwell die because, honestly, I can't remember but Wikipedia said that he is dead.

Date: 2014-04-04 11:45 pm (UTC)
aryas_zehral: (Default)
From: [personal profile] aryas_zehral

Fury and Bucky came alive here but if you go wider into the MCU rebirths are everywhere so ... depends on whether they need him I guess. :) I think it was particularly jarring for me because I spent the morning before going to see the movie reading a fic in which he and Coulson were really good friends and he was good and then he turned out to be Bad and I was like WTF? No!!! (I'd probably have just shrugged without that unintentional priming).

The only reason I went to see it in 3D is because that was the best start time on the day I wanted to go. 2D was only being shown like twice but 3D was being shown about five times and that one was while the kids were still at school, midweek, when it was most likely to be quiet. I keep trying things in 3D but honestly I don't care for it. The only time I've been particularly impressed by 3d was at the end of Despicable Me 3 (but only the end) because the bubbles honestly looked like they were floating off the screen. Most of the time its just... confusing.

It probably helps me have feels for Bucky that sometimes I find Sebastian Stan So Very Pretty and I am So Very Shallow. XD Also I have a real thing in fic for "best friends forever, whoops in love" stories so I do kind of ship it. :S

Date: 2014-04-06 01:21 am (UTC)
skieswideopen: (Avengers: Romanoff)
From: [personal profile] skieswideopen
SUCH A GOOD MOVIE.

I don't really have more to say than that. BUT SO GOOD.

spoilers for comics

Date: 2014-04-13 10:24 am (UTC)
From: [personal profile] timetobegin
ok firstly some spoilers. i can't spoiler text here

SO IF YOU DON'T WANT COMIC SPOILERS THEN DON'T READ THIS (ITS ONLY A LITTLE ONE)

in the comics when shield falls, Maria rebuilds it with tony (which is why i'm all for her applying at stark industries.)


they totally bone which will probably NOT be in the mcu because pepper, but still its kinda great.

Re: spoilers for comics

Date: 2014-04-19 05:26 am (UTC)
From: [personal profile] timetobegin
i know righttt so exciting. i love the little nods to the comics, while not following those stories because yay surprises

Date: 2014-04-13 10:27 am (UTC)
From: [personal profile] timetobegin
1. steve in a tank toppppppppppp

2. sammmmmmmmmm

3. TASHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA (ok i know for obvious reasons why clint wasn't in this film but UGH WHY WAS CLINT NOT IN THIS FILM. like not even a mention :( :() but she was so badass and saved the day and was perfect bros with cap and aldkfagj;dfj EVERYTHiNG WAS PERFECT

4. hilllllllllll. <33333333

WANDA AND PIETROOOOOOOOOOOOO DONE RIGHT

i'm meh on bucky too. he's ok, i only care about him because of cap but i think the actor is really good. he had like 4 lines and yet still made me understand where is coming frome and stuffl.

SUCH A PERFECT MOVIE ABOUT TEAMS AND BROS.

Date: 2014-04-13 10:27 am (UTC)
From: [personal profile] timetobegin
also i can talk about some winter soldier comics spoilers if you like

Date: 2014-04-19 05:34 am (UTC)
From: [personal profile] timetobegin
OK SO *Cracks Knuckles*

Natasha is in a program in russian to make her slightly more metahuman, so she's advanced in ...ways that i forgot. In the comics she's in a similar progam to the winter soldier (just james then, not bucky) and they are in loveeeeeee. both of them had false memories to make them effecitve spies for russia but later on she finds out and fixes her self i guess. i can't remember. she eventually comes over to shield and doen't see james for a while

AND THEN basically the winter soldier plot but instead of cap its tasha and she and falcon rescue bucky and bucky becomes captain america for a while because steve is dead at this point. (civil war dead)

Anyway its probably my fave ship in the comics actually, i really enjoy it a lot.

Date: 2014-04-22 08:22 am (UTC)
From: [personal profile] timetobegin
yeah i would rather the comics and mcu were seperate, but still glad she was in this movie

gosh i love arrows.

also watching tv, making icons, writing fic, reading comics, and generally fanning it up.