naushika: (MCU - Bruce/Natasha - uncertainty)
[personal profile] naushika
This is my Age of Ultron post

Overall impression: Fun movie. Enjoyable. Had a great time. Plot was really muddled, rushed, and somewhat confusing at times. Character development moments lacking - probably because of an excess of characters. Joss left his fingerprints all over this movie in obvious, cliched, Joss ways. Still loved it.

Some more detailed thoughts, in no particular order, using pictures and gifs from movies other than this one because I abhor low quality cam rip gifs:



- aw shit yeah WANDA MAXIMOFF. No, she was great though. And so was Pietro. I'm not happy about his death but it's less that I'm not happy (because I barely got to know him) and more surprised and confused that they killed him so quickly. But on the flip side, I am happy that it wasn't Wanda to go. If one had to die - yes, good. Pietro. lol. Sorry dude. I actually really loved both the twins (though their flipping on Ultron was so abrupt - another victim of the unpolished writing imho) and I'm glad Wanda is here to stay. Who knows though. Nobody stays dead in this universe. Pietro could come back.



- to me, it always seemed that Bruce Banner was the heart of Avengers 1. This time, Clint was the heart of Avengers 2. I'm gonna admit straight up I was shocked and confused about his secret family, though my initial WTF DO NOT WANT feelings have calmed down. I don't hate the characters of his wife and kids, really, it's just.. I guess I just didn't expect this at all and it felt incredibly out of character. But my boyfriend said he liked it, because he likes Clint a lot, he says Hawkeye is the only non-neurotic one and his secret family just proved he's the only one that can hang up his bow at the end of the night and go home. I think I can accept it in that way because I can see Clint that way. Still - wow. So blindsided. Very unexpect. Apart from all that, I loved the shit out of every scene Clint was in. And this portrayal of Clint made me happy because I adore every other version of Clint - movies, cartoons. HE IS SUCH A GREAT CHARACTER. And I feel he finally got his due in the movies. Welcome to the fold, movie!Clint.

Also, his scenes with the twins were possibly my favorite scenes in the entire movie.



- ..favorite scenes ASIDE FROM the actual a+ winner scene of everyone drinking and trying to lift Thor's hammer. Some of my issues were the movie were cookie cutter characterizations, Witty Banter for everyone despite how out of place it was in certain scenes, and forced interactions, but this scene was none of those things. It was so natural and genuine and perfect and like everyone's favorite Avengers Tower Party Fanfic Scene come to fUCKING LIFE. AM I RIGHT OR AM I RIGHT. It really was the best.



- I mean, some of the Bruce/Natasha stuff was dumb (faceplanting into boobs why why WHY - seriously joss why) and why does everything have to be about having babies and there was a bit too much angsty woe-is-us about the whole thing but apart from all that FUCK YEAH MY SHIIIIIIIIIP HAS SAAAAAAAAAAILED. Been shipping this hard since day 1 in the fandom and wow I HAVE BEEN REWARDED. I was so surprised tbh that it happened.. I NEVER WOULD HAVE THOUGHT THEY'D GO THERE. Brb quietly sobbing into my favorite Bruce/Natasha fics to relive the joy. *~**~*~lullaby~*~*~***~~*



- Tony & Thor's girlfriend pissing match & "Jane's better" lol yes good a+. That made me crack up I don't even care. Thor/Jane forever *floats away on a cloud*



- Ultron (as a character) was good but tragically underdeveloped. I just don't even have much more to say. I had high hopes and they were met about halfway.



- Fuck yeah VISION. The most lovely surprise in this movie was just how perfect their vision of Vision was. (heh.) I just wish there'd been more. I mean they could have done a whole Vision movie and I would've been ok with that. Vision was just so perfectly serene and thoughtful and powerful and ethereal and SO VISION-LIKE AHHHHHHHHHHHH. A++++++ job.



- lol @ Natasha's crack about Tony and Bruce gazing into each other's eyes a+ good. Glad Science Bros is still a thing.



Some summary thoughts:

Standouts for me were Wanda, Clint, and Vision. I'm here 4 Bruce/Nat. Steve and his upper torso were pretty to look at. In the end, I think these Avengers movies are great vehicles for character interaction and hurrying the greater Marvel universe story along, and there, it succeeded. This movie was an important part of the universe. It was a really fun flick. I had a good time and will probably rewatch the movie when it comes out on dvd like 800 times just like all the others (except Iron Man 2 which I've only rewatched like 50 times lol).

Joss is not good at sustained storytelling. He's great at beginnings and starting things. He abandoned all pretense at a coherent plot. Things happened Because Reasons and explanations amount to *shoulder shrug.* It's not like these are complicated movies so it baffles me that I could walk out of there not really sure why certain things happened (tbh I still don't understand just where Ultron came from/how his AI developed). Some of the Typical Witty Joss Lines felt forced to me (Nat's especially, but also Steve's too, and although I liked sassy Ultron a couple of his lines fell flat for me also). I'm glad the reins are being handed over to the Russo brothers and I am extremely jazzed to see what they do with the gang.

A- movie. I have complaints but in the end.. whatever. I enjoyed the movie and I'm eager to see the extended version with the 30 minutes of stuff they cut out of it.

Date: 2015-05-03 05:22 am (UTC)
From: [personal profile] timetobegin
firstly i saw two things i thought might be relavant to your interests today
1. http://alittlelights.tumblr.com/post/117983795316/me-after-watching-daredevil
2. http://archiveofourown.org/works/3859981

Date: 2015-05-03 05:24 am (UTC)
From: [personal profile] timetobegin
wandaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa. i want her to get her own movie and also icons and i want her to be in cap 2 and also every single other movie.

we've already talked about it but OH MAN TODAY I WAS JUST THINKING TO MYSELF AND BEING LIKE FUCK I LOVE MARVEL. *throws glitter about*

I hope the next movie will be a bit better, and i'm interested if they'll keep going with Bruce and Nat and i loveeeeeeeeeeee clint's family (its so the opposite of the comics right now in hawkeye where he's basically a sad loser, but the core bones of him are the same)

JANE IS THE BEST was literally the best

gosh i love arrows.

also watching tv, making icons, writing fic, reading comics, and generally fanning it up.