naushika: (Elementary - Joan - city)
[personal profile] naushika
I think the universe is trying to make up for my spectacularly shitty December by making January pretty awesome! Chris's parents are giving us one of their cars because his dad wants to buy a new truck. Exciting!! Free car! It's not the most fantastic car in the world - it's a 2002 Land Rover Range Rover.

Pros: it's been kept up with regular oil changes and maintenance all along so it's in fine shape; it's an SUV so lots of space, it might actually be helpful in our upcoming move & trips to Ikea; the new house is a mile from the light rail stop which is walkable in winter but in summer might be a bit inconvenient; did I mention it's free

Cons: it's a 12 year old car; it's got over 200,000 miles on it already; the mileage is atrocious at a mere 10mpg/city and 15mpg/highway; still gotta pay for monthly insurance, registration, taxes, all that fun stuff

But the cons are worth it because a) FREE CAR and b) we will only use it around town.

The car has also come at a perfect time because my one worry about moving into our new house is that we didn't have a car, so the driveway would be empty all the time - it would give the impression nobody's home like all the time. It's not the best neighborhood so that was giving me a slight worry. BUT NOW WE HAVE A CAR TO KEEP IN THE DRIVEWAY.

Ok on to tv talk!

Elementary

I am SO GLAD that Sherlock and Bell made up. Like that whole thing between them was more "annoying" than "dramatic tv", you know? I just want them to be a power crime solving brot3! Sherlock&Joan&Marcus forever!! But there were some nice conversations between them. The Elementary writers are always good at that - great emotional scenes. <3

NOW I'M LOOKING FORWARD TO NEXT WEEK'S ELEMENTARY A LOT BECAUSE THE GANG'LL BE BACK TOGTHER, YEAHHHHHH

Regarding Helix: I didn't like it. So if you did you might want to skip this, lol.

Helix

*chinhands*

I thought it was awful. Not least of the reasons being that the pilot was a giant rip-off of that X-Files episode. Which, yes, I know itself was a ripoff of The Thing, but I felt like so much of the Helix pilot was stuff almost copy-pasted from the X-Files episode.

But I could deal with that if the show were otherwise good, but.. I didn't like any of the characters. There was trite interpersonal drama (the main guy has two ~ladies who are into him wow so excite very drama wait, no, it's tired and boring), the characters acted SO STUPIDLY sometimes because it served to get them into precarious situations, the science is laughable (I CAN HANDWAVE BAD SCIENCE BUT EVERYTHING WAS ANNOYING ME SO THE SCIENCE GETS PICKED APART), just, ugh. Some "mysteries" were so obvious. "Gosh why would he cut off this dude's hand?" Gee I dunno, could be cause that's where everyone's RFID chips are and you turned the bad guys' off? Like, this is not a puzzler. Dr Hatake is obviously Julia's Secret Dad. TRITE, ALL OF IT TRITE.

There were some neat things. I enjoyed the scenes with the music because I always love that sort of juxtaposition. I like the creepy scene in the snow with all the monkeys. Yeah that's about all I liked.

WHOEVER SAID THAT HELIX WILL FILL THE FRINGE-SIZED HOLE IN MY HEART IS A DAMN DIRTY LIAR, lol. Just cause there are gross scenes doesn't mean it's just like Fringe. Fringe was speculative scifi. Helix is rehashed scifi-horror with nothing new or interesting to add to the mix.

Date: 2014-01-11 09:24 pm (UTC)
From: [personal profile] timetobegin
omg i forced myself to get to the like 45 minute mark of Helix because i was like SURELY THIS WILL GET BETTER and then i was like, nope this is awful.

sdfiuagh;dlk WHY SYFY why can't i keep warehouse 13?

The only thing i liked was the cutie blonde scientist and even that was like, WOW really. so much trope. The plot overall was AWFUL and i'm like HOW IS THIS GOING TO LAST 13 EPISODE, LET ALONE MORE.

i fast-fowarded the last few minutes and i was just like FUCK YOU SYFY at the end, basically.


but YAY CAR

Date: 2014-01-11 09:29 pm (UTC)
From: [personal profile] timetobegin
ahah right? like i could probably understand a movie or a mini-series with this plot.

oh no wait i remembered i liked ONE THING
and that was the blonde scientist saying Frak which i thought was a cool shout out to ron moore

but ARGH so so so so bad
why can't we have good scifi

Date: 2014-01-11 09:33 pm (UTC)
From: [personal profile] timetobegin
to be fair, the plot never really interested me, so i wasted most of my time judging it lol. maybe if it was you know, infection outbreak IN SPACE i would care more.

:( they did. i dunno.

Date: 2014-01-11 11:04 pm (UTC)
colls: (Trek Belanna)
From: [personal profile] colls
at this point, I'd take someone reading a take-out menu if they did it IN SPACE

Date: 2014-01-11 11:39 pm (UTC)
From: [personal profile] timetobegin
That would be nice lol

Date: 2014-01-11 11:03 pm (UTC)
colls: (SG1 Daniel!thumbs-up)
From: [personal profile] colls
I applaud your use of the Daniel images/quote

FREE CAR! SCORE!

Date: 2014-01-12 01:39 am (UTC)
fromtheashess: (ouat - red)
From: [personal profile] fromtheashess
Holy hell thats a lot of mileage. Lol. But free is always good. Yay free!

I second what colls said.

Date: 2014-01-12 03:05 am (UTC)
skieswideopen: (Republic of Doyle: Jake)
From: [personal profile] skieswideopen
Free car! Nice!

I haven't watched Helix yet, but I'm sad to hear it was so bad.

Date: 2014-01-12 07:48 am (UTC)
mfirefly10: (SG1 - Vala/Daniel make fruitcake fate)
From: [personal profile] mfirefly10
Yay free car! And I would have that same concern about no car in the driveway :)


Ugh, Helix...This is the new scifi you bring me, SyFy?! WHY couldn't it be even a little bit watchable?! I'm not asking for much, really. I watch lots of crappy shows...but I have to at least care about the characters, you know? And I really didn't. The closest I came was the snarky blond who said frak and even that was just 'you are the best of these poorly developed characters'. Plus, there was lots of icky animal stuff and while I managed to turn away quickly enough to miss most of it, I have a feeling that will be a continuing thing with this show. I watched until the end in case it had some great last minute twist and then...that ending. Nope. Done now, thanks.


A+ use of Daniel there:)
I miss space shows, man. Just give me ONE and I'll be happy. Even if it's not very good. Hell, I watched all of Stargate Universe just because it was a space show and Ming-Na Wen is pretty.

Date: 2014-01-12 10:08 am (UTC)
goodbyebird: 70s Show: Kitty is laughing. (70s Show Kitty)
From: [personal profile] goodbyebird
FREE CAR WOOT. Congrats! Definitely something that will come in handy :D

Date: 2014-01-12 08:18 pm (UTC)
geckoholic: (Default)
From: [personal profile] geckoholic
WOHOOO, FREE CAR!! :D

Yeah, I'm glad they fixed that too. It was okay, but the three are definitely better when working together. /nods

Lol, I guess Helix goes of my watch list, then. XD

Date: 2014-01-13 09:43 am (UTC)
icequeen: made by me (revolution: rachel // close)
From: [personal profile] icequeen
, but I felt like so much of the Helix pilot was stuff almost copy-pasted from the X-Files episode.

You, too? :D
and then ep 3 (which is already online for some reason, and yep, I watched it) had something from BSG, and I was like "... really now?" *LOL*

I enjoyed the scenes with the music because I always love that sort of juxtaposition

YOU LIKED THE ONE THING I DIDN'T LIKE! just saying *lol* :D

Date: 2014-01-15 11:20 am (UTC)
icequeen: made by me (sleepy hollow: abbie // green)
From: [personal profile] icequeen
*lol* okay, I watched all 3 eps in one go. ;D
I'm going to spoil you for the bsg thing then, because why not.
Of course they developed a test, for who is infected, blabla, and of course it turned out ... it didn't work!
So stupid :P

yaaaay, opposites? ;D

Date: 2014-01-13 09:05 pm (UTC)
moon_was_ours: (Elementary | Joan Watson)
From: [personal profile] moon_was_ours
FREEEEE CAR! THAT IS AWESOME NEWS.

Elementary was great this week!!!!!!

Date: 2014-01-13 09:18 pm (UTC)
laisserais: Leslie Knope drops the mic (Knope Out)
From: [personal profile] laisserais
lol poor Helix. I am really sort of baffled that we got zero personal connection to any of the characters. To me, a plot can be weak, but if I love the people, I'm a little more forgiving, you know? sigh. What is going on, Mr. Moore, why so off the mark?

gosh i love arrows.

also watching tv, making icons, writing fic, reading comics, and generally fanning it up.