naushika: (Comics - Loki - hmph)
Thanks everyone who commented on my last entry! I'm kind of a;lsjfkds and embarrassed and proud and awkward so it's hard to reply individually lol. But I appreciate everyone's support. <3

It's almost Christmas and I'm so excited! I'm not expecting much in the way of presents cause nobody in my family has any money, lol. But that's okay. CHRISTMAS IS ABOUT MORE THAN PRESENTS. But the one thing I realllly reallly want is this ebook of knitting patterns: Doomsday Knits: Projects for the Apocalypse and After. KLDFJKDS SO AMAZING. Especially apocketmitts and forager and bulletproof (the zipperssssss).

In related knitting news if you're on my facebook you probably saw these but for everyone else: photos )

:D

Also getting back to this because I'm almost done!

27. Post your favorite recipe

I kinda already did with the Brussels sprouts thing. I don't have lots of recipes because I don't do most of the cooking, Chris does, but I help. Everyone's always asking me about the buffalo ranch chicken soup (someone did recently but I lost where ever the comment was) so I'll try to share that one though keep in mind this is just me watching what my boyfriend does while he cooks it, and he doesn't go off a recipe (he wings everything!). So take this entire recipe with a grain of salt (heh).

Buffalo Ranch Chicken Soup )
naushika: (Arrow - Felicity - biting thumb)
I've been kinda busy the last several days. Not really busy I guess. Just busy not being on the computer. I'm so behind on dreamwidth and stuff though which makes me feel guilty. Oops. >.< I've been watching so much tv though. I need to do a tv update soon! (Short version: Agents of SHIELD continues to be awesome, and I'm in LOVE with Almost Human!)

I bought some double pointed needles off ebay and when they got here I started on a new fingerless mitt pattern. Specifically this one! Because they are the MITTS OF MY HEART and I must have them. It took me two days and the entire first season of Arrow to carry me through but I finished the first one!



I haven't put the button on yet cause I'm gonna wait til I finish the other one and then do the finishing touches at the same time. But I have these big shiny blue buttons I may use. But I also have some pretty wooden ones. IDK. DECISIONS.

It's not perfect - you can see many imperfections, lol. I did make a lot of mistakes as I went and had to undo and re-do many stitches. But I'm so so proud of myself for doing this! Things I did for the first time:

- knitting in the round on dpns
- cable cast on
- knitting a thumbhole space with waste yarn & picking up the stitches later (that was harrowing)
- knitting a thumb!

Just look at this:



I FELT LIKE A KNITTING WIZARD! XD

I spent a long time in the extreme beginner phase of knitting (years!) and I've done many scarves and hats and honestly at times I would think "this is so boring and monotonous" and I'd often have to push myself to finish things, and that's part of what held me back from trying more complicated patterns. But doing this project has shown me that the real fun in knitting lies in more advanced projects (not that this is at all 'advanced'.. more like.. 'a bit above novice'). Knitting cables is fun! Knitting in the round on dpns is SUPER fun! Complicated patterns are interesting and more exciting to me. :D At no point was I ever bored when working on this. SUCH FUN. I'm not finished with the second one yet, but, sooooon.
naushika: (Comics - Kate - split)
[community profile] adulting is doing bingo this month and so today I got started on doing THE BINGO THINGS.



I ended up unplugging for like 2 hours while I taught myself how to do a CABLE STITCH in knitting!



I've always wanted to try cables and it always looked super intimidating? I DON'T KNOW WHY. It's actually rather easy. (I say that now, watch me screw this project up royally halfway through.) Anyway I'm making a pair of fingerless gloves. :D These ones specifically, which I picked out because it's otherwise a very simple pattern so I could just focus on figuring out the cables. And also the author of the pattern included really clear step by step instructions and some in-progress photos. So I'd have to be a huge idiot to mess this up. They're gonna look mad cute when they're done!

And, yes, it took me 2 hours to get like 20 rows of knitting done. I'M SLOW.

Anyway, 31 Days of Blogging continuation..

20. A difficult time in your life

This question is legit dumb and I am the opposite of the type of person who gets comfort from rehashing the bad times. So I'm changing it to this:

20. An AWESOME time in your life

I'M SO GLAD YOU ASKED MEME. Well pretty much the current time in my life is more awesome than the times before it. But I had SO MUCH FUN at Phoenix Comicon this year! It was like the geek mecca I'd always been looking for.

CASUAL REMINDER THAT I MET KIERON GILLEN AND HE SIGNED MY YOUNG AVENGERS AND DREW ME A PICTURE OF KATE W/ HER BOW UGH MY EMOTIONS



Also John Barrowman touched me.

SO YEAH. PHXCC! Tickets are going on sale soon for next year! I'll be first in line tbqh.

gosh i love arrows.

also watching tv, making icons, writing fic, reading comics, and generally fanning it up.