naushika: (Grimm - Trubel - purple)
[personal profile] naushika
OOPS I committed fic.

low is a height a Grimm Nick & Trubel fic post season-4, 5575 words of introspection friendship and angst cause that's the kind of shit I'm into.

But be warned my fic-writing skills are super rusty. After I uploaded it I realized the last fic I'd uploaded was in July of 2014. Yikes.

BUT I MISSED WRITING so I want to get back into it. Also I don't know why I wrote Grimm fic when my life has been 100% Stargate-oriented the past month.

Speaking Stargate, I'm nearly done. My thoughts after getting 3/4 of the way into season 10:

- the Ori storyline actually wasn't that bad and I am enjoying it this time. I really like the Ancients vs Ori dynamics and I have always liked the Ancients as characters and as a storyline. I think this was actually a pretty well-done arc. Also Adria isn't the worst anymore. She's just ok. haha.

- I still don't like the Merlin stuff, a lot of it feels like a cop out, also some of those episodes are the most boring

- I like Vala, she makes me laugh, and Claudia Black is gr8, but it's so hard to get over a) the suspension of disbelief that someone as ridiculous as Vala would not only be made a part of the SGC but put on SG-1, and b) that they made Jonas work so hard for his spot and never fully accepted him but with Vala they're basically like "lol ok"

- why did anyone think the Lucian Alliance and their dumbass space corn was a worthwhile addition to the show? I mean I'm sure they didn't know for 100% fact season 10 would be their last season or anything but with such a HUGE threat as the Ori as the main story, the Lucian Alliance bullshit is just that, bullshit. It's a huge waste of time and so unrealistic too, like wow, who gives a crap about this whack group of bandits peddling their space corn? LOL I just don't care and I feel sad that all the time spent on them could have been spent on something more meaningful in the show's final season.

- so the Jaffa have always been one of my favorite ongoing storylines/character groups and I just feel personally offended about the events on Dakara. The Jaffa have always shown to be a thoughtful group, yes they're warriors, but they're obviously intelligent and more than just battle minded, but strategy minded and self-aware of their own strengths and failings. So how did that one douchebag guy get to be leader where he starts wiping out whole planets of humans and blindly blames everything on the Tau'ri and leads to the destruction of the weapon at Dakara? Like, he's so moustache-swirling Bad Guy about it all and it makes no sense with all of the Jaffa that we've known. I'm really upset about that, it was extremely lazy writing imo as a way to get rid of Dakara and also to kind of get rid of the Jaffa as well because they didn't want to have to incorporate them into the storyline

- The Road Not Taken is still a fabulous episode ok thanks bye

- Despite all my bitching there's a lot of great moments in season 10 and some really good writing too.

:D

Date: 2015-08-12 09:09 am (UTC)
From: [personal profile] timetobegin
oh trubel. why can't we have your spin off ITS NOT FAIR.

valaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.
although now that you mention it, Jonas got a shit deal and i am not happy about that. I guess people were excited about ben browder and claudia black whereas before they were just mad daniel left (jonas & vala we could have had it allllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll)

Date: 2015-08-14 10:16 pm (UTC)
From: [personal profile] timetobegin
I've stopped watching Grimm, but the actress that plays Trubel was on Major Crimes so that was great.

AHMAZING. i want all the jonas/janet and jonas & vala. AMAZING
to think daniel used to be my fave too. now i struggle to care about him at all

Date: 2015-08-13 02:00 am (UTC)
skieswideopen: Vala Mal Doran and Samantha Carter (SG: Sam & Vala)
From: [personal profile] skieswideopen
SG1! Good times! I really did like 9 and 10, though that might be because I love Mitchell and Vala, but I also actually kind of liked the Ori plotline. Even if the Ancients are frustrating at times.

Hurray for fic writing!

Date: 2015-08-13 10:32 pm (UTC)
moon_was_ours: (Parks and Rec | foodie)
From: [personal profile] moon_was_ours
hiiiii!!!!
Trubel! I love her os much and I hope she's back full time next season (one can hope?!)

Date: 2015-08-14 12:35 am (UTC)
mfirefly10: (SG1 - Sam and Vala are awesome)
From: [personal profile] mfirefly10
I love season 10 but it definitely had it's flaws and you pointed out the biggest ones with the Lucian Alliance and that awful Jaffa plot.

I hate the way Jonas was treated but I think the major difference there is that Vala wasn't replacing anyone. Vala was an addition to the team rather than a replacement for a missing member. Plus, the team had already undergone several membership changes by the time Vala came into the picture, whereas Jonas replacing Daniel was the first major shift in the team dynamic. At least as far as I can recall.

Date: 2015-08-15 12:26 am (UTC)
colls: (SG1 Vala!winatlife)
From: [personal profile] colls
but.... SPACE CORN!

Yeah, it was corny. I did like the team in their undercover leather outfits though, especially Sam. Don't think of it as that-space-corn-episode, think of it as the Sam-in-leather episode.

gosh i love arrows.

also watching tv, making icons, writing fic, reading comics, and generally fanning it up.