naushika: (SG1 - Sam - close up)
I am literally still not over Broadchurch just fyi. Slowly making my way through the fics on AO3.

I started a Stargate SG-1 rewatch. Currently somewhere in season 3. This show remains as great as ever.

The show is a very funny journey down late 90s hamfisted attempts at what a bunch of guys thought feminism looked like while still being so cluelessly unaware of all the ways in which they were not feminist at all. I'm so good natured about it only because it was 20 years ago and there's no point being anything other than amused at this point. I don't want to be angry at a thing I love for something that's done and over with. But damn, especially season 1.. haha. And I don't even mean just the gross stuff like Emancipation or Hathor but just weird stuff - Sam's characterization surprised me by being much more confusing in season 1 than I remember. She's her, yeah, but there's this weird other vein where she's being the psychologist of the group in several episodes for reasons I can only assume are due to her gender. Also in the episode Singularity (first one with Cassandra), Teal'c makes some comment about how Sam just knows that Cassandra would be fine due to "mother's instinct" like whaaaaaat can we not, Sam is the WORST at mothering, ahahaha.

Also if you want to read an interesting story from Amanda Tapping about just one of the things she overcame at the beginning of SG-1, read this. It's about clothing choices. The part I find interesting about the story is the casual sexism - the creators just wanted to see her in something sexy. Cause she's a woman, so duh? And she raised a concern with it and they were like ok whatever, because it wasn't like they were so super attached to push-up-bra Carter. But it's just the default that they and so many are accustomed to so of course they wanted her in sexy clothing because what else would she be in?! ~*~*~casual sexism~*~*~



But anyway. Season 2 starts getting infinitely better and season 3 is when the show really starts hitting its stride. I'm all strapped in for the ride cause it just gets better and better from here. :D
naushika: (Grimm - Trubel - purple)
OOPS I committed fic.

low is a height a Grimm Nick & Trubel fic post season-4, 5575 words of introspection friendship and angst cause that's the kind of shit I'm into.

But be warned my fic-writing skills are super rusty. After I uploaded it I realized the last fic I'd uploaded was in July of 2014. Yikes.

BUT I MISSED WRITING so I want to get back into it. Also I don't know why I wrote Grimm fic when my life has been 100% Stargate-oriented the past month.

Speaking Stargate, I'm nearly done. My thoughts after getting 3/4 of the way into season 10:

I'm not holding back in here! )
naushika: (SG1 - Sam - close up)
Rewatching SG-1 has led me on a whirlwind of emotions. I thought maybe I'd see things about the show differently, now that so many years have passed. But it hasn't turned out that way, like, at all. I'm just re-experiencing all the same emotions that I felt when the show was on the air, but on a more compressed time schedule. lol.

I'm just barely into season 8 now and I just watched the episode with Jack's first day as general and Sam leading SG1 and feeling insecure and nobody's really confident in her leadership. And I'd be ok with that if I knew it led to her blossoming as the leader of SG1. But instead Cam will be coming by and they have to co-lead the team and sigh. And it's not even anything against Cam - I actually really like him - but it's like, on the show, nobody thinks Col Carter can lead SG1, and behind the scenes, nobody thinks Amanda Tapping can carry the show.

I don't know why I let it get to me so much, it's been ten years, it's done, it's over! But it's just stirred up in me today because I just watched that episode and then I went to amazon to buy the s9 and s10 dvds (BECAUSE I NEVER DID BECAUSE OF MY RAGE) and on Amazon it's all TOP BILLING BEN BROWDERRRRrrr and Amanda Tapping is literally not even on the cover.



I'm just not ok with this!

(Also the arrival of Elizabeth Weir made me want to rewatch Atlantis too but I know my rage levels for Atlantis are like 58204 times worse than SG1 so I'm just not gonna go there haha.)

i just have a lot of sam feelings ok



But I'm going to buy those seasons and really try I pROMISE. Maybe I'll learn to like Vala this time

gosh i love arrows.

also watching tv, making icons, writing fic, reading comics, and generally fanning it up.